Roorkee BJP eyes second consecutive term for intense and complex triangular contest from this seat


Dehradun: Part of the Haridwar district of the Himalayan state of Uttarakhand, the Assembly constituency of Roorkee is poised to witness an interesting contest in the upcoming polls. In the 2017 Uttarakhand Assembly elections, Pradeep Batra of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the seat by beating Suresh Chand Jain of the Congress by a margin of 12,542 votes. This assembly constituency falls under Hardwar Lok Sabha constituency and in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, BJP’s Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘nishank’ won the Hardwar Lok Sabha MP seat by a margin of 258,729 votes in defeating Ambrish Kumar of the Indian National Congress.Also Read – In caste-centric rural Agra, can BJP’s petite Rani Maurya smash Mayawati’s Jatav voting base in all-Dalits clash?

Roorkee Assembly constituency key candidate

  • Naresh Prince, AAP candidate
  • Pradeep Batra, BJP candidate
  • Congress candidate Yashpal Rana

Who will claim the majority of the Roorkee seat?

While visiting different neighborhoods in Roorkee, the Congressional candidate for the Roorkee seat, Yashpal Rana, met with the people and called on local residents to vote for him. He also reportedly claimed that Congress would form the government in the hills state this time around. Stating that Congress will form the state government, he said he was getting support from every neighborhood in Roorkee. The public decided to change the state. Meanwhile, BJP candidate Pradeep Batra also met with Roorkee residents and said BJP was the only development supporter. Also Read – Punjab Assembly Polls: Rahul Gandhi to name face of Congress CM today at Ludhiana rally

About Roorkee

According to data from the Election Commission of India, Roorkee has 96,239 registered voters. It has 52,011 male voters and 44,228 registered female voters. In the last Assembly elections held in 2012, the Congress defeated the BJP by a narrow margin of only 801 votes to win this constituency. Pardeep Batra, the winning Congress candidate, received 23,164 votes. The runner up was Suresh Chand Jain of BJP who got 22,363 votes. The participation rate was 63.77%. Read also – Election to the Malihabad Assembly in 2022: will the BJP keep it or will the SP find its old stronghold?


Candidate Name Party Level Voting Vote rate % Margin
Pradeep Batra BJP Winner 40,000 55.35% 12,542
Suresh Chand Jain Inc. Finalist 27,458 38.00%
Ram Subhag Singh BSP 3rd 3,239 4.48%
Sunita Sing PS 4and 918 1.27%
none of these answers NOTE 5and 303 0.42%
Adesh Kumar Sharma UKKD 6and 169 0.23%
Charad Pandey PEPART sevenand 72 0.10%
Yudhvijay Singh INDIANA 8and 65 0.09%
Narendra Singh INDIANA 9and 43 0.06%


Candidate Name Party Level Voting Vote rate % Margin
Pradeep Batra BJP Winner 40,000 55.35% 12,542
Suresh Chand Jain Inc. Finalist 27,458 38%
Pardeep Batra Inc. Winner 23,164 38% 801
Suresh Chand Jain BJP Finalist 22,363 36%
Suresh Chand Jain BJP Winner 27,136 42% 15,712
Furkan Ahmad Inc. Finalist 20,855 32%
Amrita Rawat Inc. Winner 14,188 53% 7,744
Kalpeshwari Devi BJP Finalist 6,444 24%

Voting for the Uttarakhand Assembly elections will be held in a single phase on February 14. The counting of votes will take place on March 10.

Stay tuned with for all updates on Roorkee Vidhan Sabha (MLA) constituency. Click here to go to special election page and read more about poll campaigns for election results, winners, losers, margin of victory and all other details.


Comments are closed.