Mahoor aims for a sixth consecutive national title


The national badminton championship will be held from March 01 to 06 in Lahore at Captain Fasih Babar Amin Sports Complex (Shaheed).

About 300 athletes, men and women, belonging to different regions of the country will participate in the event.

At least fourteen teams will compete in the national badminton championship in the team event.

Muhammad Ali Larosh will enter the event as the defending champion in the men’s event. He defeated Irfan Saeed in the singles final with a score of 15-21, 21-17, 27-25.

On the other hand, Mahoor Shahzad will be looking to defend her women’s singles title as she is determined to become the national badminton champion for the sixth time in a row.

The 25-year-old won the semi-final and final of last year’s event with the score of 21-6, 21-13 and 21-6, 21-7, respectively.

The national champion had to withdraw from the All Pakistan Badminton Ranking Tournament 2021 final due to a hamstring injury.

According to Mahoor, she has not fully recovered from her injury, but still plans to compete in the singles and doubles events at the National Badminton Championship.

Speaking to BOL News, Mahoor said she has started training on the pitch as part of the preparations for the championship.

The 25-year-old acknowledges that playing with an injury is a risk but the national championship takes place once a year and she doesn’t want to miss this opportunity.

“I also have to compete in the Commonwealth Games in July later this year and also in the Asian Games in September,” she added.

She said she hoped to win the title for the sixth time and had been number one in Pakistan for six years. However, she last won the doubles title in 2020.

Speaking about her rival, she called Palwasha Bashir’s claim of 10 doubles titles and seven singles titles false and baseless.

She explained that Palwasha had been in the championship even during the years when the Pakistan Badminton Federation was suspended.

“The federation was suspended from 2010 to 2014,” she said. “Palwasha Bashir won the singles title in 2009 and 2015. The federation has uploaded all annual records, where all facts can be seen.”

Asma Butt currently holds the record for most women’s singles titles, having won the national badminton championship nine times.


Comments are closed.